Types of Writing Styles/ A new site icon

Hello, readers. I’m back, albeit sooner than expected.

No, I haven’t finished my second travel-theme challenge of the week. In fact, I was struggling to decide what type of writing I should tackle, so I surfed the net for some ideas. I came across a couple links that listed different types of writing, which I thought were handy to have.

Four Different Types of Writing Styles

This link focuses on the broad strokes, Expository, Descriptive, Persuasive, and Narrative styles of writing. Feel free to visit the page for more details.

Expository writing is when you write with the goal of explaining something without bias and you do it using facts. You most likely find this type of writing in textbooks and other instructional materials.

Descriptive writing is exactly what it sounds like. Your main goal is to describe a situation, an event, or an object in great detail.

Persuasive writing is heavy on opinions that are backed by excellent reasoning. Essentially, you are trying to win an argument — to make the person see things from your perspective. It’s actually quite interesting when you study this type of writing in more depth (Hello, rhetoric class).

Narrative writing is storytelling, answering the question of “what happened?” It’s the type of writing I am most bias towards.

14 Types of Creative Writing

Now, this link includes a longer list than the first one and is probably the one I will use most often when I’m out of ideas, since it leans toward the creative side of our wonderful world of writing.

It gives a brief summary of 14 types of creative writing, which I list out here:

  • Journals
  • Diaries
  • Essays
  • Storytelling
  • Poetry
  • Memoir
  • Vignettes
  • Letters
  • Scripts
  • Song Lyrics
  • Speeches
  • Journalism
  • Blogging
  • Free writing

 

There are so many to choose from! And this is not even counting the different fiction genres I haven’t yet found the guts to write in.


On a different note, we now have a site icon!

FBM Black bg merged 512 x 512While it shows up nicely everywhere else, you can’t really see it clearly on the tab, which might be a big strike against it. But that’s fine, because it’s our first. We can change and improve as we continue blogging.

See you around!

Leave a comment